Home > career, career strategy, get hired, Hire me, interview, job search, résumé, Resume, Workplace Literacy > Could using a target job title help your résumé get noticed?

Could using a target job title help your résumé get noticed?

Could using a target job title on your résumé (instead of an objective statement) help your résumé get noticed? Should you use a target job title, or is it best to stick with using an objective statement?

Watch the following video and get answers to these and other questions:

  1. What is a target job title?
  2. What are the three components of a target job title?
  3. Why should I consider using a target job title?
  4. What can I do with the other components of my résumé to make it more targeted to the open position?

– Résumé- Using A Targeted Job Title –

[See more videos at: www.youtube.com/user/WorkplaceLit4Adults]

If I can give you one primary take away message from this video it would be this: A résumé must be targeted to the job. Generic résumés are less likely to get noticed and could be prolonging your job search.

My advice: Think “customization” every time you submit your résumé and cover letter.

~ Blessings to you!

Michelle Walker-Wade
Workplace Literacy
Career & Business Strategy
Expert

  1. Olivia
    June 11, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Hi Ms. Walker-Wade, this was very informative, thanks for this blog post. I have a question: how do I handle the target job title if I feel I’m qualified and have the experience for the posted position but I don’t currently have the title? I’m an independent contractor who copyedits STM (scientific, technical, and medical) journals and ten years ago was a Production Assistant in the Higher Education department of a major publisher. The posting is for a Production Editor, and it will involve coordinating the production of STM journals, which my current and past roles closely parallel. Any tips you can offer for my title will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

    • June 11, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      Hello Olivia,

      That’s a great question. The target job title should be the one that is most similar to the job which you’re applying to even if it’s not your current job. I would not suggest using the exact same words as the job ad unless it is a a generic job title commonly used. Your resume and cover letter will really need to connect the two positions for you. Employers will generally look closest at your work experience from the last 3 years, but will take 10 years into consideration. Hope this helps.

  2. Nakia Ellis
    September 6, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Hi, Ms. Walker-Wade

    I like the idea of a targeted resume. However is it possible you can give a written example , as in like a mock resume. For better understanding.

    I am currently interested in applying to a few jobs at the moment, however I’m am very apprehensive about it because I haven’t been getting any interviews after I applied to various jobs. SOOO PLEASE HELP !!!!

    I would GREATLY appreciate it so much.

    GOD BLESS AND THANKS AGAIN !

    • September 10, 2013 at 1:32 am

      Hello Nakia,

      Thanks for posting your question. Because the whole idea around targeted resumes is that each resume is specifically designed the applicants experience and skills that directly pertain to that job, I have to show you a particular job ad along with a resume that’s tailored to suite it. This same person will show different skills and experience on s resume for a different job.
      I’d have to show you a job ad AND the corresponding targeted resume in order for you to make the connection. Unfortunately I haven’t saved any job ads to show; I only have resumes.

      I usually ask people to find a job ad they’d for which they’d like to apply, and show me their resume along with the job ad. I look over these two documents in order to create the targeting resume. I will look the two over for you and give some feedback for $5 via Fiverr.com.

      But start here: Take a look at two more of my vids.

      START this one at about 2:10 minutes in. This will give you some strategies for targeting your resume.

      And one more:

      Hope this helps you.
      -Michelle

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

