How To Choose The Next Idea or Opportunity to Pursue

CLF bulb in grass Provided by iStockphoto

I get so many ideas and opportunities that I’m constantly mentally weeding through them to determine which to do and when. Kenneth Manesse shared this video clip in our Christian Micro-Entrepreneur’s FaceBook group, and I enjoyed it so much I wanted to share it here as well.

One of the points Dr Shannon Reece makes in the video suggest the first step in determining whether to pursue a particular idea is to first ask: “Does this align with my (five) highest priorities?”  With this thought, I have taken time to identify my top five priorities I can use as my first line filter for weeding out opportunities and ideas to pursue.


These top five, in no particular order are:

  • Time – Will it completely take over my life?  Do I have time to commit to this? Is it worthwhile enough to eliminate something else from my schedule so I can pursue this one?
  • Christ-centered ethics and beliefs – Is there anything about this idea or opportunity that will conflict with my personal ethics and belief system?
  • Money – Will this idea generate money?  Will it pay for it’s self?  Will it make a profit?
  • Passion & Pathway – Does this idea or opportunity align with the institutions, industries, populations, and concepts I am most passionate about? Does this idea or opportunity help create and/or maintain the pathway I am currently journeying on?  Will it help me reach my goals? Does it keep me mobilized according to my purpose and God’s plan for my life?
  • Family & loved-ones – Will this idea and opportunity be something that is not only fulfilling for me, but also makes my family and loved ones happy to see prospering in my life?

These are my top five priorities, and I encourage you to create a list for yourself.  Having these points pre-determined will help keep you headed in the right direction when you need to make a quick decision.

So, what are your top five priorities? Don’t stop at only thinking about what these might be; document them, post them, and use them.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 2, 2015 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

